Cranfield 8 ft × 6 ft Low-Speed Wind Tunnel
Cranfield UniversityCranfield
NWTF lists Cranfield University's 8 ft × 6 ft low-speed wind tunnel as operational and closed return. Its current facility page publishes a 2.4 m × 1.8 m test section, a 5–45 m/s flow-speed range, and balances, a rolling road with boundary-layer extraction, and pressure and velocity measurement outputs.
Reviewed by Arc · About this review
Key facts
- Published test section and speed range
- NWTF lists a 2.4 m × 1.8 m test section and maximum flow speed of 45 m/s; its performance block gives a 5–45 m/s flow-speed range.
- Published facility status
- The current NWTF page lists the Cranfield facility as operational and identifies its designation as closed return.
Testing capabilities
Force, pressure and velocity measurement
The facility page lists multiple-channel high-speed data acquisition, with force and moment, pressure and velocity outputs using PIV and a four-channel hot-wire anemometer. It also lists smoke-filament seeding, high-speed video and surface-oil-flow visualisation.
Rolling road and model support
NWTF lists a rolling road with boundary-layer extraction, 6-component overhead, internal and under-floor balances, and four independent wheel-drag load cells. Its specialist-rig listing gives a 1.2 m × 2.77 m rolling road for airspeeds up to 45 m/s with two-stage boundary-layer extraction.
Equipment and published limits
| Specification | Published value | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Published test section and flow speed | 2.4 m × 1.8 m test section; 5–45 m/s flow speed | These are published facility figures. Confirm the usable model envelope, blockage, support arrangement and applicable flow conditions for a particular programme. |
| Published rolling road | 1.2 m × 2.77 m rolling road for airspeeds up to 45 m/s, with two-stage boundary-layer extraction | This is a specialist-rig listing on the facility page. Confirm model compatibility, wheel arrangement, support configuration and usable conditions with the facility. |
Access and contact
The NWTF facility page says its wind tunnels are available to industry and academic researchers and provides a Contact route. The reviewed page does not state booking, current capacity, pricing, lead time or item-acceptance terms; confirm those directly with NWTF.
Facility contact
- Address
- Cranfield
- Website
- Official test house website
Standards and accreditation
Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.
What to confirm with the facility
- Published test-section, flow-speed, rolling-road and measurement figures do not establish the usable envelope for a particular model, support system, wheel arrangement or test condition. Confirm those details with NWTF.
Before requesting a test
Public information not available. Contact test facility provider for more information.
Frequently asked questions
What measurement methods does the facility publish?
NWTF lists multiple-channel high-speed data acquisition with force and moment, pressure and velocity outputs using PIV and a four-channel hot-wire anemometer. It also lists smoke-filament seeding, high-speed video and surface-oil-flow visualisation. Confirm the applicable setup for a particular programme with NWTF.
Related testing facilities
Further reading
Sources and review
Arc reviewed the linked NWTF facility page on 30 September 2026 by direct HTTP retrieval. This is a review of published information, not a facility inspection, test witnessing or confirmation of availability. Confirm model suitability, technical conditions and scheduling with NWTF.
Arc publishes this directory entry and does not operate the test facility. Suggest a correction to Arc with a supporting source.
Cranfield University 8 ft × 6 ft Low Speed Wind Tunnel
NWTF's current facility page is used for the Cranfield tunnel identity, operational status, test-section and flow-speed figures, published support/measurement systems and information route. It does not state accreditation, booking availability, pricing or item acceptance.